top of page
Writer's pictureStrawberry-Lit Magazine

#ClutterFree with Angel Richards

Updated: Jan 30, 2020


Angel Richards: Helping People Live Life #clutterfree


Angel Richards clutterfree

As an author, what inspired you to write?

I’m an author, but I’m also a Life Coach. I talk to woman day-after-day about the same things. I find myself saying the same thing over and over, or coming across people with the same challenges, issues, questions, fears, doubts, and insecurities so, I wanted to write a book that was kind of real-talk, straightforward, and simple to the point of these are the things we deal with especially we as women. The book is for men and women. These are our issues. These are our inspirations. It’s basically about hearing and see and being around women who are unhappy. I just wanted to provide a solution and some insights to solutions that are possible that has worked for me and the women I have worked with. I lost a few friends to cancer, and it made me think what am I leaving behind. I wanted to leave books. You know, something that people can read after I’m gone.

How would you describe your writing style?

According to my editor, just how I talk. It’s very straightforward, very honest. It’s not always what you want to hear, but what you need to hear. It was important that my editor didn’t take that out of my book. I don’t believe in sugarcoating stuff because that’s not going to help anybody. I write from my heart. I pray and whatever God downloads that’s what I say.

How important is editing in your writing career?

Editing is extremely important. When I sent my book to the editor she said she was having a hard time editing it, because it is getting her in her feelings, and she felt like there was somethings she needs to deal with. She read the book and then edited it, but there were a lot of things over looked. The first print had tons of typos, and that was my fault because I didn’t proofread it. I didn’t do a final check. Luckily the typos did impede the message, but I was crushed because a Language Arts teacher. How could I let this happen? What are people going to think? But it was no big deal. We got it re-edited. So, editing to me is…EVERYTHING!

If you had to co-author with someone who would it be?

It would have to be a guy so that it can include a male and female perspective. I love Steve Harvey because he’s been through a lot of different things and bounced back. I feel like together we could create something powerful that will reach men, women, young, old, entrepreneurs, parents, husbands, and wives. I feel like it could reach everybody.

Have you ever been signed to a publisher?

When I released Clutter to Clarity for pre-order I was contacted by a publishing. It was someone who was up and coming and the company was new. I discussed with them my plans, not just for this book but a vision for all my other books to come. I was so excited, and by the time I got the contract to the publishing deal and someone to look over it who looks over legal documents, it was not in alignment with what I believed in or wanted as an author. So, I didn’t sign it. Had I been too excited about a publishing company wanting to publish me or desperate for help I would have signed into something I probably would have regretted. I had a lack-luster commitment for the publisher, but so many requirements for me as an author. I want to encourage authors to get excited, but have clarity around what it is they’re trying to do. Authors must operate as a business.

What marketing and promoting tips have worked for you?

Marketing is huge because when you put your book out you don’t want crickets. I would say at least ninety days to six months prior to the release of your book you should be utilizing your social media platform and offline communities as much as possible. Impact them in a way that they want to go and buy your book. A lot of things I write about in my book I’ve been talking about and posting about. I have a decent size following and I still must market and promote my book. I didn’t sell a million copies the first week. It’s important to market and not be afraid. If you’re not comfortable with it, hire someone who is. Because it [marketing and promoting] can make or break the sales of your book. I sold hundreds of books, and profited around $2,000 in just pre-sales on my paperback...

READ MORE in our March, April, & May 2018 Issue.


 

MARCH, APRIL, MAY 2018

Thank you so much for your interest in this INTERVIEW.

Please leave your feedback below.

Join our mailing list ---> SIGN-UP NOW

Want a feature ---> GET FEATURED

Want an ad space ---> ADVERTISE WITH US

Check out the latest issue ---> CURRENT ISSUE

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page