top of page
Writer's pictureStrawberry-Lit Magazine

Teresa B. Howell | The Heat Seeker


author interview

This will be your second time gracing the cover of Strawberry-Lit, since then you have been making some major moves. Tell us a little bit about you and what you have been currently doing since “That Church Life” book series?


I wrote two books after the “That Church Life” series called Positive Vibes Only and Delayed but Not Denied. Then, I took TCL to the stage all across North Carolina. We were blessed to have all sold out shows. From there, we went to film and music. I am currently the owner of three Roku channels, two talk shows, a Sony Orchard Distribution owner with over 30 artists, and a publisher for books, videos, and music.


Your live show “Amplified Exposure Live” features a lot of various talents from artist, to authors, and many different celebrities. What was your inspiration behind creating such a show?


I had the vision in 2018 in a dream. I saw myself on a stage platform, and I flew people to talk about their legendary talent and commitment to the arts. Since I was at home doing nothing due to Covid in June 2020, I decided to try it out on an online platform, and it worked! God blessed me with so many individuals to come forth and help me with connections thus gaining appearances from Tony Terry, Kimberla Lawson Roby, The Jacksons, and Judge Joe Brown just to name a few. I have enjoyed the journey of the show and in September, I decided to create a second show called The Heat Seekers, which features indie music artists across the country. The Heat seekers is also a magazine and a radio show and has been exposed to more than 1 million viewers on all social media outlets and streamed television.

You also released your magazine, The Heat Seekers. What can readers expect from this magazine?


The Heat Seekers magazine is all about the Indie artists from books, music, food, and more. We have some seasoned writers who are writing extraordinary columns to make the magazine pop!

When marketing and promoting yourself, what are some of the things you found most helpful?


Word of mouth has been the most powerful for me. Although ads and social media help tremendously, I find it easier just to spread the word amongst family and friends. It has worked well for all of my platforms.


author interview

You are also a singer, and you have a production company. Tell us a little bit more about what we can expect.


I do plan to release an album one day, but I got swamped with artists the first of 2021, which took my attention away from my own projects. But as soon as everyone is settled, I will continue my journey to releasing my own art in gospel music.


What are some every day things you do to balance your hectic schedule?


Well, sticky notes and cue cards are my best friends. I line them up by priority and hammer away. It’s challenging because I am still a teacher in the day time by trade. But I’ve made it work these last four years, so my busy life has now become habit.


Tell us about a moment in your career that was the most exciting.


Interviewing the Jackson brothers had me stoked. I was so starstruck that day. I was grateful that Chubb Rock helped me. I was so tongue-tied. lol


You’ve experienced many positive changes over the last few years. What would you say to a person who is afraid to step out and make a change in his or her lives?


It is a very fearful task; I can say that much. I would encourage individuals to just step out on faith. Years ago, I could’ve been further along than I am now, but fear stifled me. But the only way to get through it is to do it! Let God be your road map and go where He leads you.


What keeps you motivated every day?


My children. I want to leave a legacy for my boys. They have helped me through some tough times, and they deserve the best long after I’m gone. I am confident that they will carry on the torch and make me so very proud.


What’s next for Teresa?


Movies and film production is definitely the next step. I want to produce as many plays, films, and music soundtracks as possible once Covid is over.


Who are some of your favorite authors?


Kimberla Lawson Roby, Victoria Christopher Murray, and Olivia Shaw-Reel.


What would you tell aspiring authors who are struggling to tell their story?


Let it out! Only 5% of African Americans actually publish. So do it and do it right the first time around. Study the craft and how to market. Ensure that you have a good editor and take it from there.


BOOKS BY THE AUTHOR:



CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR:

Facebook: @AuthorTeresaB

Instagram: @Thehostteresab

Twitter: @thehostteresab


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page