top of page

The Street Poet, Maurice Wisdom Bishop


MAURICE "WISDOM" BISHOP, a Sergeant in the United States Army, hails from South Philadelphia, but currently resides in Arizona. He is married to the beautiful, Jakerra Flowers Bishop, and is the father to two boys, Maurice Jr. (Rest In Peace), and Amari Flowers Bishop. Many things led to Maurice Bishop’s drive to not only write poetry, but become a Spoken Word Poet as well. His goal is to change lives through poetry.

Read more of this interview below.

 

1. Tell us something about yourself?

I am a Sergeant in the U.S. Army, and have been enlisted for nine in a half years. I am a spoken word poet, motivational speaker and an author of two books “Blood on Paper” and “Pain Living In My Pen”. I am a husband and a father of an 8-year-old son. I am a man who has been through hell and back, and now using my story/poetry to change lives.

2. Who or what inspires you to write?

My difficult situations inspire me to write. I used to fight a lot, because I didn’t know how to control my anger. I would say things without thinking, and when things didn’t go my way I would drink and smoke as much as possible. With writing, it kept me sane, and it became therapeutic for me. When I first began performing my poetry on stage I saw how my audience react to every word I was saying and how it literally inspired them and change their lives. At that very moment, I’ve realized that poetry was going to not only fulfill me, but everyone who heard my voice.

3. What genre do you write in? Do you write from experience, if so give details?

I am a Street Poet, so I write urban poetry. Everything I write about is either true or something I had dreamed about. I witnessed my best friend gunned down in a drive by shooting, suffered from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder while I was in Iraq, the death of my only son, suicide, and more. I write what people like myself been through which is why so many of my audience listen.

4. What got you started in writing poetry?

My struggle got me started writing. When I would feel hopeless the only thing I could think of doing was write.

5. Can you share a poem that reminds you of happy times?

Life Is A Game Of Chess

The world of war is like a chess board,

And victory is stored in a closed box in our mind so we fight on the floor.

But before the fight begins you must know your opponent and know your mission,

Because 64 box on the board represents a box of decisions.

One wrong move will leave you slipping in a bad position.

Time is short and the clock is ticking.

Enemy pawns moving forward, never backwards this is just the beginning,

And now both sides are fighting for center of attraction like basketball exhibition.

Life is a game of chess but the game of life ain't no competition.

We tried hard to be a star but don't give the King recognition.

Please listen, before battle I pray in my castle in total submission,

And the King touch me and said ,"The word resign is not written in your definition.

The reason warriors lose in battle because prayer is missing,

And having faith and doubt is like having your head splitting and blurred vision.

Fear becomes your psychiatric supervision and you're stuck in a prison,

And that's why knights who fight for the King becomes chicken.

Living a defeated life is not living,

And although the King has many disciples, not all Bishops are real Christians.

So don't be stuck on religious traditions nor false religions,

Because following a dead message is far worse than a man being lead into a car collision.

So Check! Move little King! Check! Move again little King!

Because the queen is the most powerful woman in the ring.

Being captured by her can cost you everything,

Because she'll make love to you with no strings attached but yet you get strangled in your own string.

That's what I called Check Mate Checkmate little King!

I told the King how can I get to the other side?

The King said visualize yourself on the other side and think few moves ahead and analyze.

You might think you're in a losing battle in your mind,

But don't you stop, don't you run, don't you hide,

Because I will never leave your side so still fight til victory rise.

The pieces on the board are only pieces of my thoughts.

Design to show you how battle is fought.

Get your head in the book because my strategies are taught.

The enemy wants to hook you in his trap so don't be the one to get caught.

So let the weak say I am strong because only the strong finish last.

Anything can happen in the endgame but the game ain't over til one surpass.

Life is a game of chess and you must beat all odds.

I know all and see, that's why I am God.

No expert nor grandmaster can master what I've mastered.

Because their first move will only make them a master of their own disaster.

6. Who is your favorite poet/author and why?

My favorite poet of all time is Jasmine Manns from the NYC Poetry Slam team. Her words are powerful, straight forward, and she speaks about subjects that many poets won’t speak about. I believe it takes a whole lot of courage to do what she does and because of that she will always be my all-time favorite poet.

7. When writing poetry from your story about struggles do you get emotional?

While writing poetry I don’t get emotional. Yes it takes me back to the pain and the hurt but I really don’t get emotional unless I’m actually performing it. Writing and performing are two different elements to me. When I write I feel like I’m writing a dialogue to myself but coming up with metaphors, similes, and punchlines in a way that my audience can understand me. When I perform I’m literally acting out my past. Every pain and hurt that I’ve felt in the past it comes out of me so it’s

easy for me to become emotional when I’m performing.It’s kind of like when actors and actresses read their script. They don’t get emotional when they read it; especially some actors that actually write their own script. They’re more in character when they act it out because when they act it out their character becomes real to them. It’s a big difference if you asked me.

8. Can you share a poem from your story with us that had you in tears?

I was chilling outside with my friends and my best friend Shy.

Playing cards, smoking weed trying to get high.

And before my eyes I saw a car driving by,

Guns aiming at me but the bullets flew hitting Shy.

Bullets in her chest and sides.

After three minutes she died.

Blood everywhere, crowd everywhere as I shout WHY?

I felt like a father watching his only child being burned alive.

And my tears so thick my eyes bleed when I cried.

Sometimes I get flashbacks from when her body was spark till her body being chalked,

Wondering if it's my fault.

I'm so drunk in my sorrow I can barely talk.

And the pain so heavy if you ever step foot in my shoes you wouldn't be able to walk.

Eyes filled with fury because I know she's in a casket.

Blood boil to steam til my skin turn into ashes.

Pain so excruciating it's like I'm swimming in a pool of acid.

Lord help because my spirit is shattered and pieces of me lying in the dark.

And the pain is so deep that if you took an x-ray of my chest you'll see the word PAIN engraved in my heart.

I cried and I cried hoping God hearing this.

Because I feel like my soul being lynched with thorns in the crowns of my weariness.

Every time I dream of her I tried to grab hold of her soul hoping to escape reality.

But reality pulls me out of the dream and pain shackles me.

I can't even think straight when I'm trapped in the pit of memory lane.

It's like I'm in a hot desert crying for rain.

Then I heard a voice of a man, "You Know Nothing Of Pain!

I carried the world's pain on my back while they curse my name.

I was kicked on and stripped, strapped with chains.

I was whipped on so much that the meat of my back started to hang.

My back is a mass of torn tissues, it's so insane.

Thorns pierce in my skull as the blood drips from my mane.

You Know Nothing Of Pain!

Til you feel nails getting hammered in your hands and feet.

Body painfully shaking, you're clenching your teeth.

Cramping in the muscles so there's no relief.

Every time I gasp for air the pain increase.

And being hung naked and humiliated as my mother weeps.

And when I'm being hung like an ornament.

I'm pulling my body upward to avoid the stretching torment.

You Know Nothing Of Pain!//

Till the people you love becomes your worst enemy.

All the great miracles I've done for them, it's like they don't even remember me.

I died so they might repent and accept me and get their names in the heavenly.

I love them so much but they all forgot me.

And the love I have for them is more deeper than taking the heart out my chest and letting it hug their bodies.

I know your dark clouds soaring and your tears pouring, I heard you mourning.

But weeping may endure for a night but rejoicing comes in the morning.

You may feel like you can't make it because your friend buried.

But I knew you before you was born, I wouldn't give you burdens you couldn't carry.

In the mist of the madness and sadness I'll give you oil of gladness.

Beauty for ashes.

So don't be afraid and dismayed.

And he hugged me and robed me in the garment of praise.

He showed me the holes in his hands and feet as the tears began to flow.

He touched me and made me whole.

Took away my pain and resurrect my soul.

And I'm letting you all know that God is real,

And no matter what kind of pain you have, by his stripes we are healed//

9. Will you ever break out and write in another genre?

I can see myself breaking out and writing in another genre. When I feel like I have something empowering to write about besides poetry then I’m going to write it.

10. How many books have you penned?

I’ve penned two books. The first one is Blood on Paper and the second book is Pain Living In My Pen.

11. Does writing make you look at life differently? Explain why?

I believe everything happens for a reason. When I’m stuck in the middle of my decisions I would write. When I write I find myself writing out the answers to my problem. Poetry is not just medicine to me, but it is also a counselor for me. Poetry lets me see the beauty in everything. It also lets me know that there is nothing impossible in this world. I’ve also realized that the sky is not the limit. The Earth is already in the universe and we are surrounded by billions of stars and probably millions of planets that we don’t even know of.Poetry also can reveal to me when I’m bitter, angry, and show my weaknesses.

12. Would you say that your haters motivate you more?

Haters do motivate me. I believe haters will watch you doing something great with your life, but try to bring you down because they can’t do it themselves. I hate these two words, “You Can’t”. I hate words like “Just Give Up”, “You’re Hopeless”, “It’s Impossible” and “Just settle for less”. I hate it and I will bow down to their words. Not my wife, not my son, not friends, nor my mother and father. I feel like when I have haters in my life I must be doing something right. When I have haters it lets me know that I’m about to accomplished something. I believe haters are in this world to try to stop your dream but you have a choice whether to push through them or let them take you down.

13. What separates you from other authors?

I truly believe I am the only spoken word poet author who writes a real story through poetry that almost seems like something from a movie. I’m not trying to be cocky or anything, but I don’t know too many poetry books that can make you get addicted to every page and make you think about life or have a second opinion about the world around you.I’m a military soldier who can speak about situations in civilian life and the military life. I have a different voice in the urban communities and the military.

14. How did you know you were ready to become an author?

I didn’t know if I was ready to become an author. I knew if I had a passion for something that I just needed to do it and not procrastinate. In life you never really know what you are capable of until you do it.

15. Have you ever used a PEN name? What is it, and why?

I go by the name of Wisdom. When I was young as 10-years-old I had a lot of old folks that would tell me you have a lot of wisdom for a young buck. I was told that throughout my childhood years, but I wasn’t really getting called Wisdom until I was 14-years-old, so I nicknamed myself Wisdom. I named myself Wisdom because to me wisdom means I have a deeper revelation to the knowledge that many don’t have.

16. What are some of your other interest or hobbies?

I love working out, spending time with family, traveling, watching moves, playing basketball, martial arts, and chess. Chess is my all-time favorite mind sport.

17. What’s on your iPod playlist?

I actually don’t have anything on my playlist. Majority of the time I am on YouTube listening to motivational speakers; such as Napoleon Hill author of “Think and Grow Rich”, Rhonda Byrne author of “The Secret”, Dr. Wallace Wattles author of “The Science of Being Rich and many other well-known motivational speakers.

18. Before you start writing what do you need to do to make yourself comfortable for the task?

Believe it or not most writers will go in their office and write or go to their quiet bedroom and write, but for me I’ll write in the living room with my son making loud noises while acting like a dinosaur, my dog jumping on my lap, my wife asking me a hundred to a million and one questions about how my day was or how her day is going and so on. Majority of the time I’ll go outside and think and stare at Mother Nature and constantly be thankful and grateful for my life and my family. Somewhere in the midst of being thankful a topic and poetry lines will flow through me, and I’ll go back in the house and write. There are even times that I may not have a piece of paper, and I’ll write on a paper towel. If I write it’ll come at unexpected times.

19. What are you currently working on? Can you tell us something about it?

I am currently writing a motivational book about making your dreams a reality. It is a book that is very different. The things I’ve done to make my dreams a reality is unorthodox, but effective. There is an irony behind this book, but you will have to read it to find out.

20. If you was granted one wish that was guaranteed to come true, what would you wish for?

If I had one wish, I would wish to hang out with Jay Z and Beyonce for one whole day. I’m always curious about what their life is like. I want to pick their brain and watch how they handle business behind closed doors.

21. I love Authors that hustle their paperback book. Where are some places you have sold your paperback?

I’ve sold my paperback at my job in the military, in front of my house, open mic events, online and

more.

22. What’s your best childhood memory?

My best childhood memory is traveling around the world to play chess and winning. I felt like I was fearless, had no worries, and I felt like I was somebody famous. I was in Chess Life Magazines, Pennwood Push Articles, and I was becoming well-known to a lot of experienced chess players. I felt like nothing was impossible.

23. Have you ever been a ghostwriter?

I have actually. I was a ghostwriter for this woman by the name of Journey. She’s a beautiful woman who was married to a military soldier, who was killed overseas. She also has brain cancer which make her hard to concentrate, so she can’t write like she used to. The doctors told her that she will die, but not sure how long it will be. She actually was paying me to ghostwrite but in the beginning I didn’t want her to pay me. I actually told her that I would do it for free; that she didn’t need to give me money, but she insisted. We wind up losing contact and since then I don’t know her whereabouts. I tried looking for her on social media, but couldn’t get connected with her.

24. What is the biggest prize or giveaway you sent a reader?

The biggest prize I gave away to a reader was an amazon gift card and a free copy of my book autographed.

25. What is the biggest gift you can give a reader from your heart?

My love. Love because love conquers all. If someone is angry my love will conquer that anger. If you’re depressed my love will lift you up. If you are sad, my love will make you happy. If you are fearful, my love will conquer your fear. My love is contagious and soon it will become contagious to you.

26. Do you love when the readers embrace your work and you see them sharing it without your knowledge?

Yes! It lets me know that my writings are not in vain and people are reading when I feel like they’re not. I feel accomplished and it makes me want to write even more.

27. Who was there with you from the beginning and still riding with you?

My wife was there with me since the beginning and still riding with me.

We’ve been through a lot together. There were times when we thought about divorce, but God

change our plans and restored our marriage. I love my wife even more and I am happy to say that we’ve been married for 5 years now. God is Good.

28. Who would you say are your inspirations?

God is my inspiration. He tells me what to write and I write.

29. How long does it take for you to actually complete a book?

It takes me about a whole year.

​30. Who would you like to give a shout out too?

I would like to give a shout out to Strawberry Publication and family, all the fans, readers, and supporters. My son Maurice Jr. (Rest In Peace little man). A Shout out to my wife, Jakerra Flowers Bishop, and my son, Amari Flowers Bishop.

31. What advice would you give somebody who wanted to start in this field?

If you are a writer then continue to learn your craft. Most young writers believe if they have a book published then they don’t have to learn about writing anymore. I guarantee you that every well-known author and writer still practice their craft. You can never stop learning.When you write, write with the best of your abilities.

32. Tell us where your book(s) can be picked up at?

My books can be picked up at Barnes & Nobles, Books A Million, Amazon, Strawberry Publications website www.strawberrypublications.com, and my website bit.ly/MauriceWisdomBishop

 

TITLES BY MAURICE WISDOM BISHOP INCLUDE

Pain Living In My Pen
Blood on Paper

 

bottom of page